My Life as a Tornado (or as I like to call it “The Long Awaited Third Post!”)

Have I mentioned that I have a hard time keeping a journal? Or resolutions? *sigh*

So, I know it has been almost 3 months and so many things have happened in that time, but if I tried to share everything that has happened, I wouldn’t know where to start! So, I will just start again:

“Hi. My name is Tasha. Thank you for coming!”

I have come to realize that part of the reason for my mini-failure in keeping things updated is that I don’t really have a plan. I need to have a plan. I live on plans…organization…and forethought. Ya, that’s a good word: Forethought. I think that those who know me would say that’s a great word to describe me. I am a thinker and love to plan in advance. I thrive in an environment where I can contemplate all possible scenarios and outcomes and make a well informed decision. That way when a situation (or crisis) arises, I will know what to do…most times. Apparently creating a blog was not as well thought out as I initially hoped. Now that I have done some research and consideration, I have come up with a plan. So…here goes!

Since today is Tuesday, I have decided that on these days I will post a picture (one that I have taken and has meaning to me), in support of resolution #6 from my previous post.

It has been almost 7 months since I had my first vacation alone…for 5 days…with no kids. To say the least it was odd at first, but I was able to become somewhat reaquainted with the person I was before I had children. I was able to do things that I wanted to do, for as long as I wanted and I only had my needs to take care of. It was a very enlightening and humbling experience. I was able to rejuvinate myself mentally, emotionally and spiritually (BTW, just thought I would mention that while I can do these things at home without taking a mini-cation, it is challenging to do as a SAHM and in a small branch with about 45 active members, almost half who are children). I met people, other single adults (yea!!), and attended a singles ward for the first time in many years. I was able to sit through a sacrament meeting without having to “shush” anyone, I could concentrate on the talks being given and found that my spiritual cup was filling. I had the privilege to attend the Arizona Temple at least once (or twice!) everyday it was open while I was there. I had a renewed sense of gratitude for the religious teachings that have become an integral part of my life. I came to realize that I have a great strength within myself that I never knew before. I was grateful for the opportunity to take a break from life and indebted to the people who were willing to care for my children while I was away.

As I write this, I am reminded of the deep gut-wrenching sadness that I felt, as I was walking down the ramp to board the plane back home. I became emotional and didn’t know why. As I sat and pondered my mixed emotions (and used up all my tissues), I had the odd sense that I was not “going home”, but that I was “leaving home”. For the first time in my life I felt like I found the place where I truly belonged. It was a combination of geographical location and my state of being. I knew at that moment I would return. That one day I would see my new friends again and make more. That I would have the opportunity to renew the friendship I had with myself and with my Father. That I would be able to over-flow my spiritual cup so that I could continue to grow in the knowledge of the gospel of Jesus Christ and the blessings that I am provided every day.

For all those new found friends that are reading this post, I have one thing to say: my trip is booked and I will see you soon!

Leave a Reply

